Advices for Use

Key sticker

You will find in the box a sticker corresponding to the key of your harmonica. You can place it as you wish on the covers of your A R K I A.

 

Adjustment

A presetting has been made by us on your A R K I A Origin: varnish has been applied to the base of the reeds, and the angle between each reed and its plate has been adjusted. Our aim is to propose a quite “open” adjustment so that if fits with many different ways of playing, and still get easy playable overnotes for the harmonicists who can play them.
You are free to complete this adjustment if you feel the need.

 

Disassembly and reassembly

If you have to disassemble your instrument, we advise you to tighten the screws only slightly when reassembling it. The reed plates must adhere well to the comb, without compressing it. The minimum tightening is what will give the best results

Maintenance of the instrument components

1. Covers and reed plates

Brush the covers and reed plates with a soft brush, such as a toothbrush, and hot water with a drop of washing-up liquid. For the reeds, make sure to brush gently in the direction of the reed, from the rivet to the end of the reed. Dry gently with paper towels.

 

2. The ACC Comb

Plunge the comb into hot water, possibly with a drop of washing-up liquid. Gently scrub the comb with a soft brush, such as a toothbrush. Rinse with hot water and dry with paper towels.

 

3. The ACP plate

Run the plate under cold water, possibly with a drop of washing-up liquid. Rinse with cold water and dry with paper towels.

 

Security

Like all harmonicas, reeds can get damaged over time, or even split. To avoid injury, be careful and don't hesitate to change the reed or reed plate if you feel that a natural note becomes difficult to play, or that its pitch has dropped abnormally.

Do not leave your harmonica in the sun or in extreme temperatures, cold or hot.

 

Playing tips

Your A R K I A was designed by and for harmonicists. 
It has been developed over a long period of time to give you an incomparable "out-of-the-box" playing experience. It has been settled to allow you to easily produce bends and overnotes. All you have to do is play and explore its possibilities. 
Like all wind instruments, the harmonica is played by using the entire air column to blow and draw. This is achieved by inflating the belly when you breathe in and retracting it when you blow out, without forcing, without using the abdominals.
This is particularly true for A R K I A harmonicas, which would be more sensitive to playing with too much force or too much using the throat instead of the whole air column.
Do not inflate the cheeks when you blow, do not draw with the throat when you inhale, and try as much as possible to play bends and overnotes only by changing the position of your tongue, without using the jaw which remains almost closed.

By doing so, you will extend the life of your harmonicas, and your playing will be more accurate and more fluid.
 

--------------------------------------------------

© 2020 A R K I A - Alien Beats Records

Conseils d'utilisation

Auto-collant de tonalité

Vous trouverez dans la boite un autocollant correspondant à la tonalité de votre harmonica. Vous pouvez le disposer à votre guise sur les capots de votre A R K I A.

 

Réglage

Un préréglage a été effectué par nos soins sur votre A R K I A Origin : pose de vernis à la base des anches et réglage de l’angle des anches par rapport aux plaques ("gap").

Libre à vous de compléter ce réglage si vous en ressentez le besoin. Nous vous conseillons dans ce cas l’ouvrage paru dans la collection Les Cahiers de l’Harmonica : Réglages de l’Harmonica Diatonique, de Jérôme Peyrelevade, chez Alien Beats Records.

 

Démontage et remontage

Dans le cas où vous seriez amené à démonter votre instrument, nous vous conseillons de peu serrer les vis au moment de le remonter. Les plaques d’anches doivent bien adhérer au sommier, sans le comprimer. Le serrage minimum est ce qui donnera les meilleurs résultats.

Astuce pour les joueurs les plus avancés : vous pouvez serrer très légèrement plus que les autres la vis derrière l’anche du trou 9 si vous voulez jouer sur le déclenchement du 9 overdraw, ainsi que la vis extérieure gauche pour jouer sur le déclenchement du 1 overblow.

 

Entretien des éléments de l'instrument

1. Les capots et les plaques d’anches

Brossez les capots et les plaques d’anches avec une brosse souple, type brosse à dent, et de l’eau chaude additionnée d’une goutte de produit vaisselle. Pour les anches, veillez à brosser délicatement dans le sens de l’anche, en partant du rivet vers l’extrémité de l’anche. Séchez délicatement avec de l’essuie-tout.

 

2. Le Sommier ACC

Plongez le sommier dans l’eau chaude, éventuellement additionnée d’une goutte de liquide vaisselle. Frottez doucement le sommier avec une brosse souple, type brosse à dent. Rincez à l’eau chaude, séchez avec de l’essuie-tout.

 

3. La plaque ACP

Passez la plaque à l’eau froide, éventuellement additionnée d’une goutte de liquide vaisselle. Rincez à l’eau froide, séchez avec de l’essuie-tout.

Sécurité

Comme tous les harmonicas, les anches peuvent s’abîmer avec le temps, voire se fendre. Pour éviter toute blessure, soyez vigilant et n’hésitez pas à changer l’anche ou la plaque d’anches si vous sentez qu’une note naturelle devient difficile à jouer, ou que sa hauteur a baissé anormalement.

Ne laissez pas votre harmonica à l’exposition du soleil ou à des températures extrêmes, froides ou chaudes.

 

Conseils de jeu

Votre A R K I A a été conçu par et pour des harmonicistes.

Il a fait l’objet d’un long développement pour vous offrir une expérience de jeu incomparable « out-of-the-box » (littéralement « dès la sortie de sa boîte »). Il a été réglé à l’assemblage pour vous permettre de produire aisément les altérations et les overnotes. Il ne vous reste plus qu’à jouer et explorer ses possibilités.

Comme tous les instruments à vent, l’harmonica se joue en utilisant toute la colonne d’air pour souffler et aspirer. Cela s’obtient en gonflant le ventre lorsque vous inspirez et en le rétractant lorsque vous soufflez, sans forcer.

C’est particulièrement vrai pour les harmonicas A R K I A, qui seraient plus sensibles à un jeu trop en force (les notes naturelles soufflées pourraient se bloquer momentanément).

Ne gonflez pas les joues lorsque vous soufflez, ne tirez pas l’air avec la gorge lorsque vous inspirez, et essayez autant que possible de jouer les altérations et les overnotes uniquement en changeant la position de votre langue, sans utiliser la mâchoire, qui reste presque fermée.

En procédant ainsi, vous prolongez la durée de vie de vos harmonicas, et votre jeu ne sera que plus juste et plus fluide.

--------------------------------------------------

© 2020 A R K I A - Alien Beats Records